radio six international

around the clock around the world

Shortwave transmissions will return for an experiment on Saturday. From transmitters in Sweden, and on a couple of frequencies in different bands, we offer an afternoon of programming from 14:00 to 16:00 GMT on Saturday, 25th April, aimed at listeners in Europe. (3 - 5pm UK time, 4 - 6pm Europe) details on the Schedule pages. Hear us in the UK, Ireland and most of Western Europe on 9,405kHz (31.87m); and Scandanavia and Northern Europe on 3,975kHz (75.47m).



The Tony Currie Show returns in May for a new series, featuring old ones, new ones, loved ones, neglected ones and the occasional star guest. Hear it on Saturdays at 07:00 GMT (8am UK, 9am Europe, 3pm Taiwan, 7pm New Zealand); Sundays at 05:00 GMT (6am UK, 7am Europe) and 20:00 GMT (9pm UK, 10pm Europe); and Tuesdays at 19:00 GMT (8pm UK, 9pm Europe).



There's a General Election in the United Kingdom on Thursday, 7th May. We'll be prodiving live coverage as the results come in, hosted from Edinburgh by Ewan Spence with a team of experts. The programme begins on Thursday 7th May at 21:30 GMT (10.30pm UK, 11.30pm Europe) and continues through the night until 07:00 GMT on Friday morning.



Website updated at 14:35 GMT on Monday, 20th April, 2015. Programme details updated.


You've heard the programmes - now buy the music!

Our record label, Lounge Music has released the second volume of music from The Lively Lounge. Titled Second House it's available to download here. Also available: a collection of all of the instrumental singles from Tony Hatch released between 1959 and 1962. What's All This About? includes many familiar TV themes from the early 'sixties including Naked City, Dick Powell Theatre, Perry Mason, Ghost Squad and Out Of This World. It's downloadable here. We've also released an album of solo piano music from Johnny Pearson originally recorded as a session for our Piano Room series in 1986. it includes many of his best-known tracks including All Creatures Great and Small, Sleepy Shores, Cast Your Fate To The Wind, Our Love Story, Autumn Reverie (Heather) and many more. It's available to download here and like all our albums costs £7.99 or 79p a track.

For all our albums, tracks can be downloaded as mp3 or CD quality FLAC files.


The fabulous Skeewiff remix of the Radio Six Theme is available to buy as a download single, along with the original Tony Hatch Sound recording. Just click here! Each track is 79 pence or both for £1.49.

Find us on Facebook!

Are you on Facebook? Visit our page here.

Radio News our advance programme guide .... and QSL cards

We publish a quarterly full colour programme guide in printable form as a PDF file. You can email us at letters@radiosix.com to request that we email a copy to you upon publication. The 8-page April edition of Radio News is now available to download: click here. It will be available to download until 26th April and details programmes until April 30th.



We encourage listeners to our AM & FM broadcast services - especially on those on shortwave - to send us Reception Reports, and we're always happy to acknowledge your broadcast Reception Reports with a QSL card; all reception reports have been acknowledged, and all outstanding QSL cards have been mailed. In return for your report, please send either a Euro, one US Dollar or an International Reply Coupon to cover return postage together with the report and your name and return address to : 21 Sherbrooke Avenue, Glasgow G41 4HF, Scotland.

Around the clock and around the world from Scotland - on AM, FM and the Internet!

Welcome to radio six international, a private (not for profit) radio station operating from Scotland and playing an interesting mixture of songs from the world's unsigned and indie artists in their native languages with a leaning towards instrumentals and some jazz plus specialist shows featuring oldies, bagpipes, easy listening, lounge, Americana, jazz, instrumentals, light music, classical plus some talk shows to spice up the mixture from time to time! If you have any comments, please drop us a line. We rely on a team of outstanding broadcasters and producers who create their programmes for love, not money. Our team of great professionals bringing you programmes this month includes: Trish Bertram, John Cavanagh, Jeananne Crowley, Andrea Cunningham, Tony Currie, Susan Fisher, Todd Gordon, Tony Hawkins, Tamara Kennedy, Diana Luke, Rab Noakes, Andy Park, Karin Spalter, Ewan Spence and Kenny Tosh. Our email address is letters@radiosix.com. All our programme material is cleared for internet broadcast with all the copyright owners concerned and licenced by PRS For Music and Phonographic Performance Ltd. No material in any of our broadcasts may be copied or rebroadcast without the written consent of Radio Six International. All rights are reserved by Radio Six International and the individual copyright owners. This website does not use cookies to track your use. Radio Six International is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk. The time on the clock shown on our pages derives its data from your computer's clock, and we accept no responsibility for its reliability.

copyright © 2015 radio six international

On Air Now: Random Play

non stop tracks from our 50 track playlist, introduced by Diana Luke


You can also listen with the following media players:


Recently Played

TimeArtist - Title
07:23:09Sheila K Cameron (Glasgow) - Motherless
07:20:02Barbara Kiss - This Time
07:19:51Sound of Fun - Clock World
07:17:02Drumagick - Brazilian D&B [Instrumental Radio Edit]
07:13:22The Veitch Boys - Drive

Full list

Not Quite Altogether Now

Tony Currie's most recent book Not Quite Altogether Now is a romp through his pioneering days at Radio Clyde, Scotland's first landbased commercial radio station. Covering the first year or so from Hogmanay 1973, the book is essential reading for all true radio anoraks!
Click on the book image for instant ordering details. (Terms & Conditions apply. See here for details.) Also available in all good bookshops at £14.99.

The music on Radio Six International is licenced by MCPS PRS AlliancePRS For Music and PPLPPL www.ppluk.com logo