radio six international

around the clock around the world

Following the news of the sad death of the great Glenn Campbell on August 8th, we'll be broadcasting a special tribute edition of the Tony Currie Show devoted mainly the the music of this great musician. The programme will air tomorrow at 05:00 GMT (6am UK) and 20:00 GMT (9pm UK), and Tuesday 22nd August at 19:00GMT (8pm UK).



As usual we are covering the world's biggest cultural festival in our capital city, Edinburgh. Guiding us through the dizzying ranks of performers and performances is Ewan Spence and coverage is daily at 20:00 GMT (9pm UK) Monday to Friday, with repeats the following day at 08:00 GMT (9am UK). The shows are recorded each day at 12 noon in front of a live audience at the Guilded Balloon, and there's still a whoile week to go. Free tickets are available Here. If you can't make it, and want a sample of the atmosphere, you can see photos of the show each day here.



New for this month is Ellie Chalkley with her new series Listen Outside. Listen outside. Listen outside your experience. Listen outside your recommendations. Listen outside your friends list. Listen outside your own language. Listen outside your expectations. Listen outside taste. Listen outside reason. Listen outside genre. Listen outside. Saturdays 1200 GMT (1pm UK) with repeats on Sundays at 1000 GMT (11am UK), Wednesdays at 0700 GMT (8am UK) and Fridays at 2100 GMT (10pm UK). Also returning this month is Thea Newcomb with her wonderful choice of music in a fresh new timeslot of 2000 GMT (9pm UK) on Saturday, with repeats on Sunday at 1200 GMT (1pm UK) and Tuesday at 0700 GMT (8am UK, 7pm New Zealand.



Website last updated at 08:44 GMT on Saturday, 19th August 2017. Programme details updated.

You've heard the programmes - now buy the music!

We have released a new download single by Sylvan. 'We Don't Belong' is joined by her latest song 'There's an Ache in my Heart'. Check it out at Amazon, iTunes and Spotify.


The Lively Lounge provides a weekly showcase for great instrumentals, but there are also a series of download albums available. the latest - Sweet Unity includes previously unreleased or rare gems from Tony Hatch, Jeff Wayne, Johnny Harris, Johnny Pearson, Brian Fahey, Michael Park, Dieter Reith, Carlos Diernhammer, Laurie Johnson and many others. It's available to download now from iTunes, Amazon and Spotify.


There are still many fans of the music that was featured as background to the BBC test card transmissions in the 60s. Programmes often didn't begin until 5pm and the entire daytime was given over to the pattern and music. Our record label, Lounge Music has put together an album of some of the original music from these days and it's available now on Amazon and other download sites. The Test Card in Black and White (NSDL 60017) can be bought as a download here.



Find us on Facebook!

Are you on Facebook? Visit our page here.

Radio News our advance programme guide .... and QSL cards

We publish a regular full colour programme guide in printable form as a PDF file. In fact it first appeared over 50 years ago on March 5th 1967. You can email us at letters@radiosix.com to request that we email a copy to you upon publication. The August edition of Radio News is now available to download: click here. It will be available to download until 28th August and details programmes on Radio Six International for August 2017.



We encourage listeners to our AM & FM broadcast services - especially on those on shortwave - to send us Reception Reports, and we're always happy to acknowledge your broadcast Reception Reports with a QSL card; all reception reports have been acknowledged, and all outstanding QSL cards have been mailed. In return for your report, please send either a Euro, two US Dollars or an International Reply Coupon to cover return postage together with the report and your name and return address to : 21 Sherbrooke Avenue, Glasgow G41 4HF, Scotland.

Around the clock and around the world from Scotland - on AM, FM and the Internet!

Welcome to radio six international, a private (not for profit) radio station operating from Scotland and playing an interesting mixture of songs from the world's unsigned and indie artists in their native languages with a leaning towards instrumentals and some jazz plus specialist shows featuring oldies, bagpipes, easy listening, lounge, Americana, jazz, instrumentals, light music, classical plus some talk shows to spice up the mixture from time to time! If you have any comments, please drop us a line. We rely on a team of outstanding broadcasters and producers who create their programmes for love, not money. Our team of great professionals bringing you programmes currently includes: Trish Bertram, John Cavanagh, Ellie Chalkley, Tony Currie, Todd Gordon, Tony Hawkins, Paul Higginbotham, Mel Howard, Tamara Kennedy, Diana Luke, Spike Nesmith, Thea Newcomb, Ewan Spence and Kenny Tosh. Our email address is letters@radiosix.com. All our programme material is cleared for internet broadcast with all the copyright owners concerned and licenced by PRS For Music and Phonographic Performance Ltd. No material in any of our broadcasts may be copied or rebroadcast without the written consent of Radio Six International. All rights are reserved by Radio Six International and the individual copyright owners. This website does not use cookies to track your use. Radio Six International is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk. The time on the clock shown on our pages derives its data from your computer's clock, and we accept no responsibility for its accuracy or reliability.

copyright © 2016 radio six international

On Air Now: Light and Easy

Trish Bertram with three hours of easy listening music


You can also listen with the following media players:


Recently Played

TimeArtist - Title
13:39:50New Mayfair Novelty Orchestra - Buffoon
13:36:01New Concert Orchestra conducted by Trevor Duncan - A Little Suite - Jog Trot
13:35:44Pepper-Tanner - It's For You R6
13:33:46Andy Ross and his Orchestra - Michael Row The Boat Ashore
13:30:13David Whitaker Orchestra - Zazuiera

Full list

Not Quite Altogether Now

Tony Currie's most recent book Not Quite Altogether Now is a romp through his pioneering days at Radio Clyde, Scotland's first landbased commercial radio station. Covering the first year or so from Hogmanay 1973, the book is essential reading for all true radio anoraks!
Click on the book image for instant ordering details. (Terms & Conditions apply. See here for details.) Also available in all good bookshops at £14.99.

The music on Radio Six International is licenced by MCPS PRS AlliancePRS For Music and PPLPPL www.ppluk.com logo